Columbia Greene criminal justice program awards ceremony


The criminal justice program at Columbia-Greene Community College held its fifth annual Criminal Justice Graduation and Awards Ceremony Luncheon Thursday (April 27) at the Greenport campus. 

The ceremony recognizes degree candidates prior to their official graduation on May 13. Frankie Beaver-Timmons, criminal justice professor, Joan Koweek, executive director of the Columbia-Greene Community Foundation, delivered greetings, and college President James Campion gave welcoming remarks.

 Recognition of criminal justice graduates was made by Carol Doerfer, assistant dean of academic affairs. Ryan E. Skinner, of Cairo, president of the Criminal Justice Club and Criminal justice graduate, also delivered remarks. 

Presentation of certificates and pins was made by criminal justice professors Frankie Beaver-Timmons and William DeLuca; Doerfer, Lt. Adam Brainard of the Greene County Sheriff's Office, who is also vice chairman of the college's Criminal Justice Advisory Committee; 

Edward Shanley, association vice president of the Greene County Police Officers Association; and Michael Hochman, director of facilities and environmental systems at Columbia Memorial Hospital, who is also chairman of the college's Criminal Justice Advisory Committee. Receiving certificates and pins were: Justin Jump and Ryan E. Skinner, both of Cairo; Dilann Chewens, Sean Levinson and Ryan D. Skinner, all Catskill; Nicholas Churchill and Christina Khan, both Craryville; Natale McAuley, Coxsackie; Aaron Stoddard, Elizaville; Sara Paul, Freehold; Joseph Oliveri, Hannacroix; Akeil Alert, Kienna Holloway, Garrett Pough, Colin Scali and Samuel Schoep, all Hudson; Raymond Shanley, Palenville; Katlyn Nerone, Port Ewen; Matthew Putnam, Stuyvesant; Alex Spinner and Chase Ward, both Valatie; and Brandon Michaels, Windham. 

Scholarship awards were also presented during the ceremony. Koweek gave the Greene County Bar Association Scholarship to Ryan D. Skinner, and Mary Heisinger, widow of the late Bob Heisinger, gave the Bob Heisinger Forensic and Criminal Justice Award to Cheyenne Bosko, Copake. 

In addition, Shanley presented the Greene County Police Officers Association Scholarship to Sabrina Maynard, Purling. Koweek presented the William Hanna Sr. Award scholarship to Russ McCabe, Purling, while Brainard presented an award to Ryan E. Skinner, for his hard work and dedication. 

In addition, criminal justice club members who also received certificates and recognition were: Florentina Campion, Livingston; Abigail McVicker, Germantown; and Kayon Phidd, Hudson. 

Other college personnel in attendance were: Joseph Watson, vice president and dean of students and enrollment management; Allen Kovler, director of public relations; Michele DeCarlo, associate for public relations; and Marc Miller, technical assistant.

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content