Nurses Pinning Ceremonies Held At Columbia Greene Community College


Fifty graduates of the nursing program at Columbia-Greene Community College received pins during the 30th annual pinning ceremony May 12 in the Arts Center Theater at the Greenport campus.

Carol Doerfer, assistant dean of academic affairs, acted as program facilitator. She introduced college President James Campion who delivered the opening remarks.

Student speakers were Risalda Darling, of Ghent; and Karla Vasquez, Coxsackie.

Nursing awards were presented to pinning candidates by Doerfer, and Dianne Topple, acting vice president and dean of administration, who is also deputy treasurer of the Columbia-Greene Community Foundation.

The Lisa Belknap Pearson Award for Volunteerism, which was established in honor of the late C-GCF board member, was presented to Jessica Melino, Hudson.

The Thomas H. Quinn Leadership Award, established in memory of the staunch supporter of healthcare related projects in Columbia County, was earned by Brandi Loring, Acra; and Stephania Pebler, Prattsville; each of whom personifies Quinn's philosophy of leadership and service.

The Shelly Caggianelli Award for Excellence in Medical/Surgical Nursing, in memory of the dedicated C-GCC nursing instructor, went to Lisa Cornell, Saugerties; and Jessica Shackley-Bungay, Earlton.

The Joan Tompkins Columbia Memorial Hospital/Columbia-Greene Community College Nursing Scholarship is given in memory of the former president of the CMH School of Nursing who was an architect of C-GCC's nursing program. The recipient of the award, which recognizes documentation skills and outstanding interactions with patients, was Briana Pruiksma, Coxsackie.

The CMH Auxiliary Research/Teaching Award, for demonstrated interest and excellence in nursing research and/or teaching, was presented to Jennifer Houle Keegan and Marissa Schoonmaker, both Hudson.

The CMH Auxiliary Science award is given to a student who has demonstrated interest and excellence in the sciences. The award was given to Fawn Landry, Greenville, and Edward Murach, North Salem.

The Elizabeth H. Gould Scholarship is given in memory of Elizabeth Gould, a nurse. It is given to a nursing student who demonstrates leadership skills and excellence in patient care. This year's recipients were: Kristina Pambianchi, Acra; Sarah Scalera and Hope Williams, both Athens; Jennifer Hernandez, Catskill; Christopher Moore, Chatham; Lisamarie Vander Pyle, Freehold; Patricia Patterson; Saugerties; Juliana Zengen, Standordville; Margaret Grimmick, Surprise; and Margaret Gardiner, Westerlo.

C-GCC nursing program alumna Nancy Swart presented the Zack Swart nursing award, in honor of her son. The award is given to students with an outstanding bedside manner who plan to pursue a career in oncology, pediatrics, or psychiatric nursing. This year's recipients were Vasquez and Karley Nichols, Red Hook.

The Sandy Speenburgh Award, named for a former C-GCC nursing professor, is given to a leader who has the ability to integrate academic knowledge, clinical reasoning, critical thinking, and ethical resolve in providing care to patients. This year's recipient was Andrew Loring, Acra.

The Kiaja and Kieran Gavlik Nursing Award, created by family and friends of the Gavliks, is presented to a C-GCC nursing student with a strong academic record who intends to pursue a career in pediatrics or obstetrics. The award was given to Insun Hendricks, Red Hook.

Ten students entering their second year of nursing studies, who have demonstrated excellence in both academic and clinical performance, were awarded the Herman and Eleanor Abel Memorial Nursing Scholarship. They were: Catherine Leonard and Julianna Potter, both Chatham; Marissa Brevoort, East Chatham; Alexandra Fingar, Germantown; Leigh-Ann Brash, Megan Clark and Alexandra Matey, all Hudson; Justine Murphy, Kinderhook; Serena Race, Philmont; and Heather Viccaro, Valatie.

The Mavis and John Caggianelli Nursing Award, sponsored by John Caggianelli and his wife, Mavis, an alumna of the C-GCC nursing program, is given to a student who posses a good bedside manner, a calm demeanor and all-around professional aptitude. This year's recipient was Theresa Lee, Poughkeepsie.

The Rita Wood Kraljevich R.N. Award, sponsored by Ann Bullard, daughter of Rita Wood Kraljevich, who is an alumna of C-GCC's nursing program, is given to a student who has been the class representative and who has attended nursing division meetings each month. The award was presented to Merandia Cruz, Kingston.

The Dorothy Charles Memorial Kindness Award, sponsored by Cindy D'Esposito, daughter of Dorothy Charles, who is an alumna of the C-GCC nursing program, is given to a student who demonstrates kindness and an outstanding bedside manner. This award, which is selected by the family, was given to Hendricks.

Vice President and Dean of Academic Affairs Phyllis Carito introduced the nursing graduates. Pins were presented by Joseph Watson, vice president and dean of students and enrollment management, and the following nursing division personnel: Dawn Wrigley, chairperson/professor, Anna Cortese, associate professor and retired lieutenant colonel in the U.S. Army Reserves; Cynthia Engel, professor; Mary Ellen Gallagher, associate professor; Marjorie Reilly, instructor and laboratory RN; and Professor Diane Lew-Snider.

Also present for the ceremony was Robbin Wase, nursing secretary.

Leading the class in the nursing pledge were Scalera, Vander Pyle, and Amber VanDerheyden, Kinderhook. Meanwhile, Murach, Nichols, and Colleen Fortine, Lake Katrine, conducted the lighting of the candles.

Edward Fiebke, Jr., nursing class of 1992, was pianist. Doerfer closed the ceremony.

Candidates receiving pins were: Andrew Loring, Brandi Loring and Kristina Pambianchi, all Acra; Craig Paraszti, Amenia; Brittney Bowman, Nathanael King, Sarah Scalera, Maurenna Vatalaro and Hope Williams, all Athens; Shannon Higgins, Cairo; Jennifer Hernandez, Catskill; Christopher Moore, Chatham; Alex Winters, Columbiaville; Briana Pruiksma and Karla Vasquez, both Coxsackie; Jessica Shackley-Bungay, Earlton; Alyssa Hoffman, East Greenbush; Amanda Berbiglia, Ashley Borgen and Lisamarie Vander Pyle, all Freehold; Risalda Darling, Ghent; Fawn Landry, Greenville; and Brandice Roberts, Hillsdale.

Also, Megan Bennett, Jennifer Houle Keegan, Jessica Melino and Marissa Schoonmaker, all Hudson; Jean Hogencamp and Amber VanDerheyden, both Kinderhook; Vivian Coston, Merandia Cruz and Bethany Gougoutris, all Kingston; Colleen Fortine, Lake Katrine; Edward Murach, North Salem; Erin Hedges, Palenville; Karla Butironi and Suzanne Butironi, both Pawling; Theresa Lee, Poughkeepsie; Stefania Pebler, Prattsville; Insun Hendricks and Karley Nichols, both Red Hook; Lisa Cornell, Ginny Garofalo, Elna Naccarato and Patricia Patterson, all Saugerties; Juliana Zengen, Standordville; Tanya Robinson, Stottville; Margaret Grimmick, Surprise; Paula Beaudoin, Valatie; and Margaret Gardiner, Westerlo.

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content